skip to Main Content
Conference Programme

Please note that the below is a preliminary conference programme and subject to change. Information correct as at 13 October 2021.

LAWASIA’s Committees throughout the 4 days (15-18 November 2021) will offer a comprehensive and practical work programme for attendees and will explore a broad range of legal issues of relevance in the Asia Pacific region.

Session times are in Sydney time (AEDT)

Time Zones for reference:

  • 12:00 pm (Sydney, Melbourne)
  • 10:00 am (Seoul, Tokyo)
  • 09:00 am (Kuala Lumpur, Hong Kong, Beijing, Shanghai, Singapore, Manila, Taipei)
  • 08:00 am (Bangkok, Jakarta, Hanoi, Vientiane, Phnom Penh)
  • 06:30 am (Delhi, Colombo)
  • 02:00 am (Paris, Berlin)
  • 01:00 am (London)

To check any further time zones please click here

Thursday 11 November 2021

16:00 – 18:00 Sydney time LAWASIA Annual Council Meeting (Zoom platform)
LAWASIA Council Members only. This event is by direct invitation only. 

Monday 15 November 2021

The Conference will be held on the Airmeet virtual platform.

16:30 – 18:30 Sydney time

OPENING CEREMONY

Welcome Remarks: 

  • Mr Chunghwan Choi
    President | LAWASIA
    Chairman | International Association of Korean Lawyers (IAKL)
    Senior Partner | Lee & Ko – SOUTH KOREA

Keynote Speech:

  • Judge Piotr Hofmański
    President | International Criminal Court
    THE NETHERLANDS

Bar Leaders Forum
Post-Pandemic Era – What are the Strategies of Bar Associations?
View Session details

18:30 – 19:30 Sydney time Networking

Tuesday 16 November 2021

11:00 – 11:30 Sydney time Keynote Speech
Rule of Law in the South Pacific – Lessons from Samoa
View details
11:30 – 13:00 Sydney time Constitutional & Rule of Law
Constitutionalism, Rule of Law, and the Tatmadaw: The Past, Present, and Future of Myanmar
View Session details
STREAM 1 STREAM 2
13:30 – 14:30 Sydney time Intellectual Property Law
Global Trends in IP
View Session details
Environmental Law
Ocean Governance and Climate Change and its Consequences
View session details 
15:00 – 16:00 Sydney time One Belt, One Road
Sustainable Belt and Road Initiative and Climate Change
View Session details

Session sponsored by:

Women Lawyers’ Forum
Powerful but Powerless? The Challenges of Women Lawyer Leaders
View session details
16:00 – 17:00 Sydney time Networking
STREAM 1 STREAM 2
17:00 – 18:00 Sydney time Judicial Session
International Gambling Regulations
View Session details
Banking & Finance
Regulating Cryptocurrency: Too Much or Too Little
View Session details
18:30 – 19:30 Sydney time Human Rights
International Criminal Justice and the Asia Pacific
View Session details
Alternative Dispute Resolution:
Enforcement and Execution of Arbitral Awards
View Session details

Wednesday 17 November 2021

STREAM 1 STREAM 2
11:30 – 12:30  Sydney time Employment Law
From Survival to Growth: Employment Issues in Different Jurisdictions as we Emerge from the Pandemic
View Session details
Real Estate & Transactions
The Direct and Indirect Legal Effect of Prolonged Pandemic C-19 on Real Estate and Related Transactions in Asia Pacific, and where do we go from here
View Session details
13:00 – 14:00 Sydney Time Taxation & Customs
Navigating Tax Audits & Disputes During the Pandemic
View Session details
Energy & Resources
The Energy Transition and the Impact on the Legal Regulatory Landscape
View Session details

Session sponsored by:

14:00 – 15:00 Sydney time Networking
STREAM 1 STREAM 2
15:30 – 16:30  Sydney time UNCITRAL
UNCITRAL Update on Investor State Dispute Settlements (ISDS)
View Session details
Family Law & Family Rights
Family Law Practice: What has Changed and What will Change?
View Session details
17:00 – 18:00 Sydney time Communications, Technology & Data Protection
Privacy, COVID & the Workplace
View Session details
Sri Lanka Issues
Challenges to the Rule of Law in Sri Lanka
View session details
18:30 – 19:30 Sydney time Asia-Europe
Legal Remedies towards Government Responses to Covid-19 & Climate Change
View Session details
Human Rights
Climate Change and Human Rights – The Role of the Law in Mitigating the Impact of a Changing Climate on Human Rights
View Session details

Thursday 18 November 2021

STREAM 1 STREAM 2
12:00 – 13:00 Sydney time Emerging Lawyers
Road To Young Leaders Shaping The Future After Pandemic – Considering ESG And SDGs
View Session details
Anti-Trust & Competition Law
A Survey of Recent Trends and Developments in Competition Law
View Session details
13:30 – 15:00 Sydney time Human Rights – Afghanistan
Transition in Afghanistan – Human Rights, the Rule of Law and the Role of the International Legal Profession
View Session details
15:30 – 16:30 Sydney time CLOSING CEREMONY

 

Back To Top